WHAT’S UP WEDNESDAY: On a Tuesday – 13.01.2018 “I thought it was Wednesday edition”

It’s been so long since I’ve done one of these posts, gosh! And I really like them as updates. I love writing them and reading them. You know one of my THINGS is to know what EVERYONE is up to. I’m going to be one of those old ladies who spends her days at the window checking on her neighbors. Or better yet, the 21st century version, the Facebook grandma who stalks her grand kids on social media.

job-interview

I bet they didn’t even consider this might happen when they created Facebook but this is the absolutely 100% most perfect way to use the network.


Please remember that this post was created by Shay Shull and that I first saw it on Hannah’s blog. A few other friends do it too: AngelaLee and Cherylene. If you do it too or if you want to do it, let us know, so we can check your post. Also, don’t forget to mention the creator, I have done that mistake.

wuwquestions-edit-969x1024

What we’re eating this week:

We went grocery shopping yesterday, as we needed a few things. We decided to go to Aldi because we hadn’t been there in a long time.

I needed (still need) my milk (rice and coconut) which I cannot find there and anywhere else but only one specific supermarket, which has just started selling it in their own store brand.

The other stores do have coconut milk but it is not store brand so it’s way more expensive.

We are actually very lucky to have many different stores about 10/15 minutes away or even less, which is great for variety and convenience.

We just love Aldi because it’s cheap and it carries so many “different” things you cannot find anywhere else. Their vegetable and fruit section is not even half decent or cheap but we buy our produce elsewhere. I digress.

I’ve just had a snack which consisted of some tangerines (my mother in law sent us so many tangerines and oranges, among other things, such as organic extra virgin olive oil, made by them, meat, onions, potatoes… I just love them. Not because they send us things, obviously. Because they are so kind and generous, hardworking people. And because they’re my family. I don’t feel like they’re Rui’s family), one of my favorite breakfast cookies “Belvita Soft Bake Golden Grain”, some coffee with regular skimmed milk (we ended up not going to the other store) and my sparkling water with lemon and currant syrup.

Yes, I did match my coffee cup with my tangerines. The coffee capsule was a coincidence.

 

 

314632-Belvita-5xSoft-Bakes-red-berries-21

The “Red Berries” are my absolute favorite. We only buy these cookies when they’re on sale because they can be quite expensive foe breakfast cookies, especially when we can find perfectly good options for half the price. I’ve never tried or seen the “Chocolate Chip” variety but I’m curiosity to try them. I hope they’re not too sweet.

We NEVER buy or have EVER bought pre-made spaghetti, chicken or meat sauces. We buy condiments, sure, but no sauces. We make them from scratch. Rui actually makes them with the huge amount of tomatoes he gets from our vegetable garden and we store them using glass jars we save during the rest of the year from beans, olives, peas, etc.

Yesterday, we spotted these sauces at Aldi and we decided we might give them a try. Not them we are going to start eating spaghetti sauce from a jar because it makes no sense for us, but it’s something we could keep around for those moments when you have no time to cook. So we bought these:

The first one is really going to be an experience on my part. I don’t really like very exotic food and I never eat Indian or Vietnamese or Thai. It has too much flavor for me. I know it sounds weird but I like my food to be a bit plain. Rui is making some chicken and rice right now and is going to use the sauce for the chicken. The label mentions some coconut, which I quite like. It also says it might be a bit spicy which I don’t enjoy or tolerate lol I’ll definitely keep you posted on Instagram and here tomorrow. I’ll film my reaction, it’ll be fun.

The second one is just a simple spaghetti sauce. There was a spicy option (no thank you) and a third one with herbs. I have herbs, come on. How lazy can you be. So we went for the simpler one. We’ll probably have it tomorrow or one of these days.

So, yeah. I guess this is what we’re eating. I’ve just written 783 words about food.


What I’m reminiscing about:

When I was a super blogger and everyone would come to my blog, read, comment and hang out with me. I have let myself go and now I don’t feel like I’m in the loop at all. I used to have 600 views a day, people. I got lazy. People forgot about me.

I had almost 14.000 views last May. I’ll be lucky if I get to 2.000 this month lol


What I’m loving:

  • Going to the pool for my water fitness classes and swimming.
  • Freelance work for extra income.
  • A pregnant friend
  • Blogging again.
  • Podcasts.
  • The fact that I feel better. I feel more confident, fearless and strong.
  • Purging and de-cluttering our home.
  • Planning for fun and exciting things ahead.
  • Rosa learning to give you her paw.
  • Possibly, God allowing and helping, finally making peace with a friend I’ve been estranged for about 6 months. We’ve been really hurt, mad and stupid and I hope we can make amends.

What we’ve been up to:

  • Definitely de-cluttering and downsizing and organizing a bit. I’m no minimalist and I’ll never be but I’m thankfully no hoarder either so I’m getting rid of lots of stuff. “Oh, but I’ll wear this when I lose the weight” – “No, bitch, you won’t. Get rid of it. If and when you lose the weight you’ll figure something out. Somebody else might need it”
  • Getting extra work.
  • Trying to get healthy. I have some major relapses. Pizza crises.
  • Getting shit together in general.

What I’m dreading:

My students. Teenager hormones in Spring.


What I’m working on:

The usual.

  • Work.
  • A big freelance project.
  • The house.
  • Myself.
  • Life.

What I’m excited about:

  • Spring, I guess.
  • Friend’s pregnancy.
  • Blogging.
  • Working on the gardens for Spring.

What I’m watching/reading:

Watching: – Shows

This is Us – Season 2

Resultado de imagem para this is us

The Good Doctor – Season 1

Resultado de imagem para the good doctor

Divorce – Season 2

Resultado de imagem para divorce hbo

Call The Midwife – Season 7

Resultado de imagem para call the midwife season 7

Reign (Need to get back to season 1)

Imagem relacionada

The Alienist (we just started and love it – It’s a new show)

Resultado de imagem para the alienist

The Walking Dead (Need to get back to season 7. Or give it up for good)

Resultado de imagem para the walking dead

The Crown (Need to get at season 2)

Resultado de imagem para The crown

Big Little Lies (I’ve only watched the pilot and I really want to watch it)

Resultado de imagem para big little lies

Watching: – Films

Trying to watch all of the Oscar nominees. So far I’ve managed to watch:

Dunkirk (Not as good as I was expecting)

Resultado de imagem para dunkirk

Get Out (Great one, one of the best movies of the year)

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing Missouri (Oscar is theirs, for sure)

Resultado de imagem para three billboards outside ebbing missouri

I must say something about this film. I’ve mention many times before that I listen and read about true crime and missing persons a lot. In most cases, law enforcement is less than useful, to say the least. This movie shows how desperate families are when they have no idea what happened to their missing or murdered loved ones. Sometimes you need to do crazy things and go all out to make people listen and act on it. Such a perfect example of getting no answers when you need them so you can move on with your life.

We’ve watched this weird-ass film last night and I thought it was pretty stupid. Rui kind of like it but I wasn’t convinced at all. Do you know it? Have you watched it? Any thoughts about it? It’s The Killing of a Sacred Deer.

Resultado de imagem para the sacrifice of a sacred deer

Some people seem to have enjoyed it a lot, but I was left with the “What the fuck did I just watch” feeling? It’s confusing and uncomfortable and I don’t know guys.


Reading: 

I have a bunch of things I either want to read or have yet to finish so my reading is all over the place. I’m currently reading:

Before I Knew by Jamie Beck (20%)

Resultado de imagem para before I knew by jamie beck

All the Breaking Waves by Kerry Lonsdale (16%)

Resultado de imagem para all the breaking waves

Dragonfly in Amber by Diana Gabaldon (Outlander )

Resultado de imagem para dragonfly in amber


 

What I’m listening to:

Podcasts

The Vanished Podcast

Resultado de imagem para the vanished podcast

Stuff to Blow your Mind

transferir.png

Stuff You Should Know

Resultado de imagem para stuff you should know podcast

Casefile True Crime

Resultado de imagem para casefile true crime

Thinking Sideways

Imagem relacionada

Music:

I was 14 in 2005 so give me a break, please.


What I’m wearing:

It’s cold so very warm clothes. Booties (rotate between 2 pairs, 2 black, 1 beige, heeled), pants, black and black and beige patterns, black jeans, dark blue jeans, black leggings, warm turtleneck sweaters, cotton sweaters, blouses or shirts with cardigans, long sweaters or tunics, winter coats, scarfs and beanies.


What else is new:

Nothing that I can remember right now.


 

If you were able to get to this point, congratulations and thank you!!

*The pictures that were not taken by myself belong to google images*

Desenho sem título (4)

15 thoughts on “WHAT’S UP WEDNESDAY: On a Tuesday – 13.01.2018 “I thought it was Wednesday edition”

  1. Nice! All the best on that Freelance project. My colleague has been trying to get me into The Good Doctor. I watched a bit into the first episode but was distracted, so I’ll give it a try again now that Will Yun Lee will be joining the show soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I wouldn’t worry about the fluctuating reader numbers, just keep doing what you’re doing and enjoy it! Ooo I’m now up to date on This Is Us Season 2 and it’s amazing (though painfully said at times too); I’ve not come across the Divorce series though so I’ll have to check that out. It’s now Wednesday here… Happy Wednesday/Valentine’s! 🙂
    Caz xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love Belvita as a snack, I always have one pack in my bag, just for snacking because I get hungry really easy. In Bosnia is really cold also, it snowed yesterday and today it’s freezing. Didn’t see any of these series I have to admit, but I started watching Spanish series which I didn’t do since my childhood, but I’m absolutely loving it. xx

    Liked by 2 people

    • Finally someone who doesn’t think I’m weird because I “am always listening/reading about serial killers and a bunch of dead people” Rui makes fun of me and says I cover all the bases. I listen/read about missing persons, cold cases, murders, serial killers, forensic science, forensic psychology, medicine, watch autopsies on YouTube and then watch paranormal documentaries. 😂😂😂😂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I looove Aldi’s, their stuff is so cheap! (I even used to work at one) Sadly, they don’t have any here in my state; I miss it so much. Those belvita cookies are so yummy… they are pretty expensive, though. I agree about pre-made sauce… it’s so much better to make your own. It’s not that hard & so much tastier.
    We haven’t forgot about you on the blogosphere! I’m so excited to see you’ve been posting a little more lately 💗
    What a great list of shows I need to add to my to-watch list. Big Little Lies looks like it has an awesome cast!
    I really loved the movie Get Out… hadn’t heard of Three Billboards movie before but sounds suuuuper interested. I need to see it!
    💗

    Like

Leave a comment