Guest Post Sunday – “Clothes Sizes” by Ella May Garrett

Hello friends,

Sunday means a new Guest Post.  This week I have the pleasure to present a post by a dear blogger and friend, Ella May Garrett. This is such a good article and I think we can all relate to it, so I would be very happy if you would re-blog this or send it to every friend, sister, mother, daughter and any girl in your life who has ever struggled with clothes sizes. Don’t we all know one? I mean, aren’t you one? I know I am.

Clothes Sizes by Ella May Garrett

Standing in the Topshop fitting rooms, I have my usual size 8 in hand and I feel awful. Why? Because I could barely get this denim skirt up my legs before I had to accept that it didn’t fit me. I asked the lovely lady for a size 10 and I ended up buying it… slightly reluctantly.

Why did this make me feel completely rubbish? I have no idea! A lot of people would love to be a size 8 to 10 but that isn’t the point I’m making. What sucks is that it is so easy to be consumed by the number on the label of an item of clothing and it can hurt enough that it affects our mood for the whole day, maybe even longer than that.

When I got home I compared the waist of the size 10 denim skirt with other Topshop skirts I own and I was genuinely shocked. A size 6, 8 and 10 that I have from Topshop all measured up nearly exactly the same. Unbelievable! It reassured me that sizes are not worth paying attention to.

Now, nearly 21, I have a slightly thicker skin when it comes to these things. It does still bother me but I know my 15-year-old self would have broken down in that changing room and not bothered to compare the sizes when I got home to realise how arbitrary the whole system is. And that is why I hate it. I hate it because I know how it can make people feel and I know that it sucks. We all know deep down that it is just a number but how many times do you say or hear “I have dropped 2 dress sizes”, “I wish I was a size 10”, “I’m a size 10 on top but a 14 on the bottom”, every month. These are such common phrases that we all use and I think it is about time we stage a little revolution against the disparity in clothes sizes and stop allowing us to get worried about whether we have creeped down in to single digits or whether being uncomfortable in a pair of jeans is worth it to tell people what size it is.

I think the best comparison to this is the way people generally react to their weight nowadays. YEP people say they want to lose a few pounds or add a little bit of junk in the trunk here and there but people have pretty much come to accept that weight looks different on everyone. A 6ft person weighing 11 stone looks very different to a 5ft person weighing that. So, like we are coming to ignore the number on the scales, I think we should the number on the clothes.

I refuse to be hurt in the changing room because I must size up – when in all reality, the skirt was exactly the same measurement as a 6 and an 8 from the same shop that I already own. Psychologically, it’s ridiculous! I know countless amounts of people who can say they are a 10 in one shop, 12 in another or 14 somewhere else. WHAT AM I? You know what you aren’t that’s for sure. YOU AREN’T A SIZE. YOU AREN’T A NUMBER. And that is all that matters. What fits you, what makes you feel comfortable and what makes you happy.

So, screw clothes sizes and screw the crappy feeling that shops give you!

I watched a really interesting YouTube video a while ago on Vox that discussed the history of women’s clothes sizes and how each number is just a stab in the dark and not really a true representation of anything – hence all the disparities.

 

31 thoughts on “Guest Post Sunday – “Clothes Sizes” by Ella May Garrett

  1. Jainey says:

    Finally!! Somebody voiced out my heart’s thoughts. I never understand why my girl friends bother about a bunch of numbers.
    Loved the video too. Best thing I’ve seen today so far. 😀

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Cherylene says:

    Well said! Too often we hold ourselves up to what the number says when the reality is the shape of our bodies plays a role in how clothes fit us. When buying clothing we need to focus on how we feel and how the clothes fits our body type. I for one have picked up clothing air-marked for my size that did not fit right and it was sometimes due to the cut of the clothes or the fabric used. Thank you so much for sharing this. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. lifeofangela says:

    This was a great post Ella! I’m glad you’re more comfortable about it now. I feel the same. I have worn a whole collection of sizes, from 8 to 10 to 12, and sometimes they all fit the same and have the same measurements. These size things are literally a guess and they just randomly throw it on. I always grab a couple in different sizes as I never know which one I am. I think womens sizes should be the same as mens. Like, how their pants sizes are just measuring waist sizes, that’s way there’s no guesswork.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Ella May Garrett says:

      ❤ Thank you so so much for reading this Angela!! Exactly, I totally agree about men's sizes being the same, it makes much more sense. I do think they just throw random numbers down to either belittle women or make the clothes run up big so women get a "thrill" in getting a smaller size xx

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Lee says:

    Great post Ella!✨
    UGH, I hate shopping when it comes to size, not because I think I’m too small or too big but because I know that there is different sizing in different stores so I never know exactly what size section to go to, unless it’s a very familiar store and brand. So frustrating that they do this. I hate having to make a guess, try it on, and go from there having to go up or down. Who has time and patience to constantly do that?
    The video was very interesting. Thanks for sharing

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ella May Garrett says:

      Thank you so much for reading this! That is what I hate too! I feel like they deliberately make it a difficult process. Ironically enough I just bought home a size 10 skirt and size 6 jeans from the same shop… the jeans fit me great and I couldn’t get the skirt on?! What a joke! xxx

      Liked by 1 person

      • Lee says:

        Wow! That’s the most frustrating because you already bought it, then you have to worry about taking it back for the right size or just giving away which is hard to do. I’ve been there too smh, I usually don’t feel like going back unless it’s super expensive.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Rosie says:

    I studied Textiles A-Level (several years ago now!) and remember part of the course touched on sizing. As there’s no hard-and-fast rules on sizing, each shop is free to invent their own scale, hence the huge disparity between shops (and even between lines in the same shop). At first, it damages your self-esteem – teenage me was horrified at having to buy anything above a size 8 – but I think the more you accept that it’s just a number that has been (practically) plucked out of thin air by companies, the less it bothers you. It would be fantastic if there was a universally accepted sizing scale for women’s clothes (as there is for men’s), but I can’t see it happening any time soon. Great post, Ella!

    Like

  6. Milena ☁️ says:

    This is really well written, Ella, and I couldn’t agree more! When I was much younger, all of my friends were able to shop for adult clothes in Topshop (this was before the size 2 and size 4 days) while I couldn’t put anything on without being drowned in fabric. It was awful for my self-esteem as a 12/13-year-old and continuously reminded me of my lack of height. Same goes for those awful awful height charts or age sizing that children’s shops seem to just love! I’m a big fan of XS/S/M/L/XL/XLL etc. sizing as, to me, it refers more to the item of clothing – including the store that it’s from – than the body that will wear it. It’s so easy to get caught up with sizing, whether something is too small or too big for us. Now, I’m more than grateful for petite ranges (and tall, plus size etc.) as it recognises that bodies are all different and can’t fit into one type of sizing! xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

