Friday Favorites and Weekend Plans 29.03.2024

Happy Friday, everyone!

It’s a public holiday here (Good Friday) and I’m taking the rest of the day, tomorrow and Sunday off from blogging. I’m focusing on balance and on trying to be more present and enjoying the little things more, so I’m taking the weekend off to focus on nothing but my little family. I’ll see you back here on Monday.

Before I go, I’m leaving you with my favorites from this week.

1. I’m a complete moron. Seriously, you have no idea how big of an idiot I am. I’ve been complaining here about how I only have about a month to do my remaining 16 driving lessons and to pass my driving exam but, it turns out, I actually have until November. The deadline is a year from the theoretical exam and not six months. Major facepalm.

2. Speaking of driving, I actually had two lessons this week (one of them in the rain, no less) and they went so much better than I expected. I feel like I’m improving with every lesson and I’m starting to feel like I might actually be able to drive some day. Before you ask, “how hard can it be”, let me explain that we all learn to drive a stick shift here and automatic cars are very rare, so it is a bit confusing at first to focus on brake, gas, clutch, stick shift, blinkers, steering wheel. There’s so much happening at the same time and I’m honestly not very good at eye-hand-foot coordination. I’ll get there eventually.

3. My husband surprised me (after I begged him to bring me a little something sweet from the store) with a Ferrero Rocher Easter Egg yesterday and, even though I have mixed feelings about it, it is still making my list of favorites.

4. Olívia is now laughing uncontrollably when we tickle her and it’s so cute and funny to watch. It’s even funnier because Dalila has started to try to copy us and tickle her baby sister. I can’t wait to watch their interactions when they’re a bit older. Hopefully, Dalila will grow out of licking her sister and saying “hmm, delicious” (why are toddlers so weird?).

5. I finished reading Ex in the City by Portia MacIntosh and it was just the funny, light read I needed to balance all the non-fiction I’ve been reading. If you’re into rom-coms, I definitely recommend her books.

6. I’m currently and very slowly watching the documentary “Crazy, Not Insane” (this could honestly be the title of my autobiography), which focuses on why people kill and on how brain damage, childhood trauma and sexual abuse can affect people and lead them to violent crime. I’m only about halfway through it but it’s worth watching.

7. I’m still on a bread making kick and I’ve been experimenting with different recipes. My favorite is this rustic white bread, which turns out so crusty and fluffy that I can’t even wait for it to cool down before eating. I’ve also tried a mixed grain bread (white flour and rye flour) and banana bread. I look forward to keep making homemade bread and baking in general. I’ll probably share my very easy bread recipe next week.

That’s it for today. I’m off now.

Enjoy the long weekend and Happy Easter!

Love,

Cheila

As usual, liking up with Momfessionals

9 thoughts on “Friday Favorites and Weekend Plans 29.03.2024

  1. I was 27 when I passed my test and I honestly had so many lessons. I just wanted to ensure I was ready before I even tried for a test. I believe I only passed because sadly I had just lost my brother and to be fair I just thought that well it’s a driving test if I fail does it matter in the grand scheme of things. I absolutely love the giggles of little ones what a precious moment. I hope you have a fabulous weekend. Enjoy your egg. I should have thought through my egg decision I think. Take care .

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That is great that you have more time than you thought with your driving. Good luck.
    There is so much to think about when driving a stick shift car, I always think learning in an automatic would be so much easier.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That is really good you’ve got more time to complete the driving lessons! It’s a good thing you realised. Looking forward to your bread recipe if you choose to share it, love making bread. Wishing you a lovely weekend ✨️💗

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I am so happy to hear your driving lessons are going well! Your will build more confidence with each lesson I promise, I was the same way. Except I didn’t have to learn stick shift, so kuddos to you for managing all that. I would be like nope! haha Sounds like you had a lot of wonderful favourites this week thought ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • I wish I didn’t have to learn to drive stick shift but it’s the only way to get a license here. I don’t even know anyone who drives an automatic, we all drive manual cars. I guess we like to keep our lives as complicated as possible lol

      Liked by 1 person

      • lol cause life isn’t already complicated! Correct me if I’m wrong, but a lot of Europe is like that isn’t it? It’s so unfortunate you can’t learn on an automatic, I think you would be more at ease driving that way. But you got this! This is something my instructor told me when I was driving and I will always remember it, “You are the princess of the road, only you can keep yourself safe, no body else. You drive and go when you feel safe….” He was awesome. So remember….You are the Princess of the road, or Queen lol whichever you prefer!

        Like

Leave a comment