Pregnancy update – 25 weeks

How far along: 25 weeks + 5 day

Due Date: 15 May 2022

Baby size: Whatever an acorn squash is.

Weight gain: None. I gained 1kg in the last month but I had previously lost some weight.

Maternity clothes: Yes! A pair of maternity pants, nursing bras and maternity tights. Still wearing all my pre-pregnancy dresses.

Stretch marks: Nothing new.

Sleep: Wonderful, can’t get enough. My dreams are quite wild, though.

Gender: Girl!

Best moment: She reacts to us tapping and talking to my belly.

Looking forward to: Her being here and watching Rui be a dad.

Food cravings: Strawberries. Coca cola.

What I miss: Strawberries. And just being able to order a salad.

Symptoms: Well, they’re here. Hemorrhoids. Sorry if this is TMI. I was told to expect them but I never thought they would come so soon. My pelvis and breasts are quite painful too and I’ve been having some heartburn.

Mood: Worried because her nursery is not yet ready. Nesting mode on.

The highs: Feeling her moving and buying her things.

The lows: How I moan every time I have to turn in bed.


My Pregnancy Purchases – First Time Mom

Hello there,

Today I’m sharing my pregnancy related purchases. As a first time pregnant mom, I’m not always sure what I’m going to need, so I’ve been buying things according to recommendations and based on what I feel I’m needing at the moment.

So far, this is what I’ve gotten.

Before I had read that there isn’t much you can actually do about stretch marks and that they’re mostly genetic, I got this belly butter to use on my belly and breasts. Even if it won’t prevent stretch marks, I’ll definitely keep applying it as a regular lotion. I like that it’s 99% natural, scent free and super smooth and creamy.

This pillow looked so comfy, I just had to get it. In reality, it’s definitely comfortable but it takes way too much space. It would be perfect if I slept alone or if we had a bigger bed. I shouldn’t definitely have gotten a smaller one. I’ll still try it as a nursing pillow.

I’m currently in love with this journal. I think it will be lovely to come back to in a few years.

My regular jeans don’t fit anymore, so I needed something comfortable and cheap that I can wear for the rest of my pregnancy. These go with pretty much every top and sweater I own, so they’ll do just fine.

I love to wear dresses year round, always with tights when the weather is cold. My many pairs of tights have now become too, well, tight around the waist so I had to get a couple of maternity tights. I’m probably get a couple more pairs as I’m wear mostly dresses these days. I wish these were thicker, though. I usually go for a matte, opaque look and prefer them to be at least 80 denier.

Because my regular bras are no longer comfortable. I’ve been living in sports bras but they don’t look quite right with regular clothes so I decided I’d get something that’s close to a sports bra but that I can keep wearing after pregnancy and while nursing.

I’d definitely welcome some recommendations from fellow moms.

What were your pregnancy essentials?



A Day in the Life: Monday 31.01.22 (Pregnant and on Medical Leave)

Good evening, everyone!

Day in the Life posts are my absolute favorite to read, so I thought I might attempt posting my own.

Expect nothing exciting, just a pregnant lady wobbling through her day while trying to get stuff done.

Here’s my day, Monday the 31st.

11.20 AM- Woke up. Late. Because I’m pregnant and tired and need all the sleep I can get.

11.22 AM – Breakfast. Toasted bagel with butter and some coffee with milk in my unicorn mug. Ate at my desk while checking on blog notifications, emails and news.

12.19 PM – Got my Covid booster shot. Signed up for it as soon as it opened for my age group. Covid is no joke and I want all the protection I can get.

12.46 PM – Stopped by Aldi to get orange juice and coffee filters. One of my pregnancy symptoms is being thirsty all the time, for something other than water.

1.39 PM – Very unhealthy lunch because I’m pregnant and that’s what I was craving. Ate at my desk (husband was in his man cave/office working) while watching Call the Midwife, season 11.

2.06 PM – Decaf and chocolate.

1.58 pm – Laundry, two loads. I feel like I do (or should be doing) laundry every single day. My husband either runs or goes to the gym 5-6 times a week, which adds up. I’m sure I’ll be forever buried in laundry once the baby is here.

3.30 PM – Laundry is hanging to dry. Most of our days are sunny, even in Winter, so we don’t own a dryer.

3.44 pm – Studied for this training course I’m taking. My husband keeps making fun of my glasses chain but I love it and will keep wearing it.

5.08 PM Also studying for my driving theory exam.

5.32 PM – Whipped up a quick dessert because our friends have just invited us for dinner at their new house and I wanted to take something. Took me about 10 minutes to make this.

6.09 PM – Showered and put on this beautiful dress which was a birthday present from my friend. She has yet to see me wearing so it’s the perfect outfit for tonight.

8.16 PM – Spent some time with our friends’ cat. Her name is Margarida and she’s the fluffiest.

12.57 AM – Back home after a wonderful dinner with out friends. Putting on my pajamas and starting my night routine.

12.58 AM – Getting in bed and finishing my day with some reading.

Good night!

Love, Cheila

Pregnancy Update: 24 weeks

How far along: 24 weeks 3 days.

Baby size: According to my many pregnancy apps, she’s about the size of an eggplant/aubergine.

Weight gain: Last appointment was on 04.01.2022 and I had actually lost 800 grams.

Maternity clothes: I have the one pair of pants that still fits so I’ve just ordered my first pair of maternity jeans. I wear a lot of dresses with tights so I had to get a couple pairs of maternity tights as my regular ones are getting too tight on my belly.

Stretch marks: I’ve had them since I was 11 and I don’t think I have acquired any new ones since becoming pregnant.

Sleep: Wonderful, can’t get enough.

Gender: Girl!

Best moment: Her daddy was able to feel her move for the first time this morning, so there’s that.

Looking forward to: Meeting her.

Food cravings: Nothing in particular, just super hungry and thirsty.

What I miss: Strawberries.

Symptoms: Someone SHOULD have told me that I’d have pain in my vagina. Not my actual vagina but pretty much everywhere around it. My pelvic area is killing me and I groan every time I move. My breasts are pretty sore too and I have the occasional heartburn but, other than that, everything is fine.

Mood: Wanting to get everything done but low on energy. Happy and calm.

The highs: My hair, nails and skin have never been better.

The lows: How much I have to pee.